Free Shipping in India  For Orders Valued More Than Rs. 500/-           Sign Up Now! Get 5% OFF

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Nakshatra/ Constellation/ Star

Planets or Graha

Nakshatra/ Constellation/ Star?

In Indian Astrology, whole Zodiac comprises of 360 degrees. There are 27 Nakshatras/ Stars/ constellations in Zodiac.
In Sanskrit, Nakshatra means ‘which does not decay’. Each Nakshatra has a span of 13 degrees and 20 minutes. Each Nakshatra has been further subdivided into 4 quarters of 3 degrees and 20 minutes each, called ‘Pada’.
In the Vedic period, whole Indian Astrology revolved around Nakshatras, and probably Zodiac signs, very popular these days, had little or no role to play. Even today, if you are visiting an ancient Hindu temple, the priest may ask you, your Nakshatra before starting deity’s worship. The Nakshatras have great importance in the Muhurta (Vedic Electional Astrology) branch of astrology.

How do the Nakshatras affect you?

The zodiac is divided into 27 Nakshatra. Therefore, while travelling the zodiac, the Moon has to pass through one of the Nakshatra. When you were born, the Nakshatra in which the Moon was situated at that time is called your Janma Nakshatra or birth Nakshatra. Janma Nakshatra gives insights to thinking patterns and characteristics of a person.
Nakshatras are also used for calculating the Dashas, an unique feature of Vedic Astrology, not found in the western system of astrology. The Dasha system is very useful for timing the events.

There are the 27 Nakshatras/ constellations/ Stars in all; however an additional Nakshatra ‘Abhijit’ is also considered sometime in special cases.


Need Help?